Love Smoothies?…Try This!

If I learned anything from my dad and all the health advocates, it’s that we need veggies and veggies need to make up 50% of our meal. But the thought of raw and hard veggies grosses me out – making my taste buds cringe.

Well after being introduced to the Vitamix blender I found a way to get my veggies in while making sure the entire vegetable is used. However, what I failed to realize is that too much spinach in high quantities is really dangerous. According to Women’s Health, spinach is “high in oxalate, a compound that can lead to the formation of kidney stones.”

I do use spinach in my smoothies but I often switch it up with kale. Don’t get me wrong, while I understand the importance of vegetables and I like to put them in my smoothies, I like my smoothies to actually taste good. So I add a variety of fruits too – like bananas, apples, and dates. As for adding liquid to the smoothie, I sometimes put almond milk, coconut water, or plain ole H2O!

Here’s a smoothie that I find takes an interesting spin for smoothies:

Layered Mixed Berry Green Power Smoothie

Serves:4 servings
Prep time:10 mins
Total time:10 mins
A double-layer of mixed berry and mighty green comes together in this power-loaded smoothie that you can feel good about sipping!
Ingredients
BERRY LAYER:
  • 1 medium banana, cut into chunks and frozen
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla protein powder
  • 1-1/2 cups milk

GREEN LAYER:

  • 1 medium banana, cut into chunks and frozen
  • 1 cup diced mango
  • 1 medium kiwi, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups loosely-packed spinach
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla protein powder
  • 1-1/2 cups milk
Instructions
  1. Make the berry layer: Place all ingredients in a blender and blend on high speed until smooth. Pour berry smoothie into 4 glasses, filling halfway. Set aside.
  2. Make the green layer: Clean out the blender and place all ingredients in blender. Blend on high speed until smooth. Divide green smoothie between glasses, pouring on top of berry layer. Enjoy immediately!

Found on: http://wholeandheavenlyoven.com/2015/04/21/layered-mixed-berry-green-power-smoothie/

Try making this smoothie and let me know what you think!! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

